Michelle M. Wong is the adjunct solo English horn of the Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra, which takes the stage of Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Born and raised in Hong Kong, Michelle began her musical training at the age of four and made her concerto debut with the Pan Asia Symphony Orchestra when she was fourteen.  The following year, she was invited to participate in the 15th anniversary tour of the Asian Youth Orchestra as one of the youngest members in the history of the orchestra.  While traveling with the orchestra, she performed eighteen concerts in eleven cities in Asia as the principal oboe and english horn player.

Michelle has performed with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, Hong Kong Strings, Hong Kong Wind Philharmonia, and the Macau Orchestra, under the batons of Edo de Waart, Sergiu Comissiona, Richard Pontzious, and Jerry Junkin.  She has participated in masterclasses with Christian Schneider, Jane Marshall, William Bennet, Jerry Junkin, Peggy Pearson, and Matthew Dine.

In September 2005, Michelle became a Licentiate of the Royal Schools of Music, United Kingdom.  Michelle graduated from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts with a Diploma in Music Performance, and received her Bachelor of Music from the prestigious Oberlin Conservatory of Music where she studied with Alex Klein and Robert Walters.  Michelle is now a graduate student at Temple University’s Boyer College of Music and Dance, studying with Jonathan Blumenfeld from the Philadelphia Orchestra.

Besides being an active orchestral and chamber oboist, Michelle is also an accomplished piano accompanist.  She recently performed the Hindemith Sonata for Oboe and Piano with Grammy Award winning oboist Alex Klein to the acclaim of a full house audience.

<June 2021>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Michelle M. Wong to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Eclogues, Op. 206
Françaix: Quartet for English Horn and String Trio
Hartke: Wulfstan at the Millenium

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore